What Are Misdemeanor Charges?

Misdemeanor charges are placed between the more serious felony charges and the less serious infraction charges.  

How Are Misdemeanor Charges Classified?

Being charged with a misdemeanor in California means you have broken a law where the maximum punishment is no longer than one year in jail. 

What Are The Three Types Of California Misdemeanor Charges?

There are three kinds of misdemeanor charges in California, each more serious than the last. The first is the standard California Misdemeanor, where the punishments are a fine of $1000 or less, and /or 6 months of incarceration. While the second is what is known as an aggravated California misdemeanor and which involved the same fine and/or up to 364 days in jail (under a year). 

The third type of misdemeanor charge in California is known as a wobbler offense, and while this a somewhat friendly sounding name it refers to a charge that could be brought either as a misdemeanor or a felony. Something that potentially makes it the most serious of the three. 

What Are The Most Common Types Of Common Misdemeanor Charges?

There is a long list of laws that relate to misdemeanor chargers in the California Penal Code, and some of the most common of these include: 

  • Shoplifting – PC 459.5
  • Reckless Driving – VC 23103 (b)
  • Disorderly Conduct – PC 415
  • DUI – VC 23152(a)
  • Domestic Violence – PC 273.5
  • Petty Theft – PC 484 or PC 488
  • Probation Violations – PC 273.5

What Determines The Cost Of Bail For Misdemeanors?

Several factors impact how much bail will be. The first of these is whether you ask for a bail hearing where a judge will either set bail or release you on your 'Own Recognizance' (OR). Bail costs may also be dependent on whether you are accused of multiple charges. Indeed, in some cases, the charges may be combined to set bail, while in others only the most serious charge will be used. 

How Misdemeanor Bail Works - A Case Study Of Misdemeanor Bail For Battery Of A Spouse

Now you know more about how misdemeanor bail works in California, let's look at a particular charge to see how it works in practice. 

One of the most common misdemeanor charges levied in California is the Battery of a Spouse. Indeed, as well as relating to persons that are married this charge can also be applied to fiancés or fiancées, former spouses or parents of the defendant's child, and even those that have previously dated. 

What Is Simple Battery Under The California Penal Code?

Under California Penal Code 242, simple battery is classed as willfully touching someone else in a harmful or offensive manner. Therefore, any willful and unlawful use of force or violence on another party can be classed as a simple battery. 

This means potential situations that could incur a battery charge might be shoving someone in anger, putting your hands on your partner, or waiting for someone to hurt them. 

Different Types of Battery

There are also other types of batteries listed under the California Penal Code including: 

Battery causing serious bodily injury - 243(d) - this is when unlawful or willful force is used against a person and causes serious injury. 

Battery on a police or peace officer - 243(b) and 243(c) - This is when a police or peace officer is attacked and is a more serious felony offense. 

Sexual battery, 243.3 - This is unwanted touching of an intimate part of a person. It can be charged either as a felony or misdemeanor depending on the context.

FAQs About Bail Bonds for Misdemeanor Domestic Battery

Do you need to be in a current marriage with the person accusing you of domestic battery? 

No, it can be a current spouse, but also a former one alone, and the same goes for someone you have/ are cohabiting with, have been/ are engaged to, have had, have a dating relationship with, and even if they are the parent of your child. 

Does the victim need to suffer injury to bring a case of domestic battery?

Surprisingly no, as long as the situation meets the criteria laid down in the California Penal code a charge of domestic battery can be brought. This means very minor situations such as scratching someone or tearing their clothing during an argument could result in a domestic battery charge. 

What To Do If You Or Someone You Love Has Been Charged With Misdemeanor Domestic Battery?

If you or someone you love has been charged with domestic battery then helping them make bail will ensure they get home as quickly as possible and can begin preparing for their court case. 

Of course, not everyone has the entire amount of money needed to post bail accessible to them. That is where bail bonds come in. Bail bonds will provide you with the full amount of money so you can post bail, and the best bail bond providers like Alana's Bail Bonds can offer your bail for as little as 10% of the bail amount, and with 0% interest financing! 

Choose Alana's Bail Bonds for all your Misdemeanor Bail Bonds needs, today!  

If you need a misdemeanor bail bond, there is no better choice than Alana’s Bail Bonds. We offer 24-hour service to all of California by phone and online with local bail agents available to meet at the jails or courts. 

Alana’s Bail Bonds is a female military veteran-owned and managed business that is proud to offer military discount bail bond services. Fast easy payment plans with 0% interest financing and no collateral needed in most cases. Lowest bail bond prices guaranteed! 

You will find that our agents are friendly, licensed, bilingual in English and Spanish, nonjudgmental and all bail bonds services are confidential.

Bail Bond costs in California are typically set at 10% of the bail amount. We do not charge interest or hidden fees, and we are proud to offer discounts of up to 30% to military members, homeowners, qualified union members, first responders, government employees, and teachers.

Lastly, our bail Bonds can be processed online using DocuSign or by phone from anywhere, we offer in-person services as well, so you can get out of jail, fast.